A quick word: I realized mid-morning on Wednesday that the first couple of paragraphs of my post on “Why I Did Not Become a Jehovah’s Witness” were missing. If anyone would like a little more context, they are now there!

I love a few words that express lengthy truths better than many words could. Of course, Charles Spurgeon was a master of all words – lengthy or brief. Here is one of his bite-sized gems for your Friday enjoyment. They come from the wonderful biography written by Arnold Dallimore. I find it so interesting that Spurgeon did not argue the systematic merits of Christianity versus agnosticism with this man. He certainly could have. He was a brilliant theologian as well as preacher. Instead, he goes right to the essential necessity of the book of James – faith undeniably evidencing the reality and character of God through works.  I’m sure this was most uncomfortable for the particular adversary of that day, and doesn’t it challenge us?…And just a by the way comment: as I post this, I realize it fits in perfectly with yesterdays’ description of, “Why I Did Not Become a Jehovah’s Witness”.

“To an agnostic who one day accosted him and challenged his Christian beliefs, Spurgeon pointed out the failure of the unbeliever’s organizations to take on any definite and sustained program of help to the thousands of needy around them. In contrast he pointed to the works that sprang from evangelical Christianity, and he closed his conversation by paraphrasing the triumphant cry of Elijah, vigorously asserting, as well he might, ‘The God who answers by Orphanages, LET HIM BE GOD!”

