A young reader of my blog, Kelly Tarr (kellytarr.com) has nominated me for The Liebster Award. As she said to me, it is a “fun little thing” for newer bloggers with smaller readerships. The word Liebster is German and apparently means nicest, kindest etc. I will not lay claim to those. But here I go with the Liebster format, as a way of finishing up my introduction of myself begun in “My Testimony”.

Rules for Receiving the Award:
1) Each person must post eleven things about himself.
2) Answer the questions the tagger has set for you plus create eleven questions for the people you have tagged to answer.
3) Choose up to eleven people and link them on your post.
4) Go to their page and tell them.

Eleven Things About Me:
1) I was born in French Canada – in Quebec.
2) I have lived in five different countries.
3) In those five different countries, I have lived in more than thirty different homes.
4) My Dutch ancestors left New York for Canada as United Empire Loyalists after the Revolutionary War.
5) Another of my ancestors was head of the Royalist forces that fought Oliver Cromwell in Ireland.
6) In school, I was “the principal’s daughter”.
7) I do absolutely nothing ‘crafty’, nothing with my hands. The last time I tried to sew a button onto something, I went right through my top layer of skin and sewed it right onto my finger. Honest!
8) I would rather clean a bathroom than cook or garden.
9) I have no hobbies except reading and walking.
10) If I could re-design myself, I would have hobbies.
11) Deep conversation with a close friend is the chief of my earthly pleasures.

Questions from Kelly at kellytarr.com:
1)What has been your favorite book this year?
Predators, Pedophiles, Rapists and Other Sex Offenders – for reasons I have discussed on my blog in two posts – “For the Children’s Sake” and “Cognitive Dissonance and Predators”.
2)What has been the most challenging part of parenting?
If you don’t mind, I will answer from the perspective of grandparenting. And that is definitely not giving way to fear about these little ones I love so much.
3)What kind of car do you drive?
A 1999 Camry. We are grandmothers together, my little car and I.
4)What is your favorite season?
Fall
5)What is your favorite thing about your favorite season?
Fall smells.
6)Do you have a go-to dinner recipe? If so, what is it?
No, but I do have a go-to person – my husband, John. He loves to cook and is much better at it than I am.
7)Is there a hobby you’ve desired to pursue, but haven’t? What is it?
See above!
8)If ever given the opportunity, would you  participate in a flash mob (dancing)?
Ha! Ha! I can hear my whole family laughing! I can’t even do aerobic exercise to music.
9)What is one place in the U.S. that you’d like to visit (that you’ve never visited)?
California
10)What’s your favorite (or one of your favorite) blogs to read?
My kids’ blogs. Unfortunately, only two of them are blogging right now: Tim at challies.com and Grace at sharingrace.com
11)What inspired you to begin blogging?
Wanting to share the wisdom and experiences that only time can bring.

My Nominees: (Not necessarily really new or small – sorry)
1) sharingrace.com. My youngest daughter, Grace, writes and photographs beautifully.
2) puttingdownroots.blogspot.com. Likewise, for my niece, Johanna.
3) agrowingfamily-kate.blogspot.com. A sweet chronicle of daily life from my niece, Kate, when she has a chance to write. She has three tiny children and is expecting a fourth!

My Questions For You:
1) What is your cultural background?
2) What are a few words that would describe your family of origin?
3) In a few words, what is your first memory?
4) What did you enjoy most about school?
5) Where did you meet your spouse?
6) How would you spend next Saturday if you had no responsibilities?
7)Which historical character would you most like to meet?
8) Which historical character would you most like to delete?
9) Which fictional character would you most like to meet?
10) If you could choose any country to live in for a year, which would it be?
11) If you could choose any century to live in for a year, which would it be?

