The other day I mentioned ways in which I have to come to trust God more over the years. One thing I did not mention, probably because it is so very self-evident. But I am going to highlight it today.

It is the ‘practical sufficiency’ of Scripture.

I have always had a good doctrine of Scripture. I know without a doubt, and I delight in the fact, that the Bible is inerrant, infallible and clear. But – when you have a heart-gripping issue to deal  with –  is it truly sufficient?

I can get really troubled by things. Some are current situations in my life that will come and go but for the moment are difficult, indeed. Others are old issues that never seem to be fully exorcised in this life. They cycle around again and again, and have to be worked through at deeper and deeper levels.

When I am challenged, even overwhelmed, I have to decide in my early morning devotional time what to do. Do I look through Scripture for passages I know are relevant to my struggle or do I continue to read where I happen to be? Of course, this is not a black and white situation. It is this part of God’s truth or that part of God’s truth. But still, the decision has to be made.

Mostly, I stay where I am reading. I have found God able to use the day’s reading to meet my needs, whatever they may be. Down to very particular issues.

And that leaves me astounded. Who is this God we serve? How can He do that? He upholds the universe by His word of power. He brings insight into my small universe of uncertainties and heartaches, whatever they are. With the two or three chapters I am reading that day.

I see that God does not just coordinate Scripture to me. He also coordinates me to Scripture. He ensures that my thoughts each day are what/where they have to be to profit by the day’s reading.

“The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord;
He turns it wherever he will”. (Proverbs 21:1)

He turns mine, too. To wherever He has ordained it will be on December 7th, 2012.

“And now, O Lord God, you are God and your words are truth…” (2 Samuel 7:28)

They are all truth. And he has ordained the particular truth I will be reading on December 7th, 2012.

So, 1 sovereignly-turned heart + sovereignly-ordained particular truth =

Practical Sufficiency.

