Note: Again, WordPress is doing weird things, at least in draft. It will not let me space things properly. Pardon the odd gaps if this comes through as I publish!

Question:

How will I not be jealous of those in the new heavens and the new earth who have                    greater reward than !?

Answer:

Not only will the first and great commandment be fulfilled in the new heavens and the new earth, but the second. That is, I will love my brother as myself. I will, with all my heart, be as joyful for his greater reward as I would be if it were my own.

His attitude will be exactly the same. With all that he has, first and foremost he will be seeking God’s glory. Next to that he will be seeking to bless me with his great gifts, not himself.

Who can quarrel with that? God, indeed, does all things well.

And a little addition just because it is interesting:

I love Arnold Dallimore’s biography of George Whitefield. A biography of Whitefield of necessity also deals with John Wesley.

Without a doubt, Wesley had some less than stellar characteristics. He was very competitive with Whitefield (who actually originated much of what is known as Methodism, and was the more popular evangelist) and actively sought to undermine him. So much so, that not a few people questioned whether or not Wesley could actually be a converted man.

The question was put to Whitefield, “Mr. Whitefield, do you expect to see Mr. Wesley in heaven?”

Whitefield’s answer: “No, I do not expect to see Mr, Wesley in heaven as he will be so much closer to the throne of God than I will be.”

Whitefield’s cry was, “Let the name of Whitefield perish, but the name of Christ endure forever.”

And that is exactly what happened.


