CS Lewis said one sin rarely admitted is that of feeling better than others. I have thought of that often, and here is my response:

Question: Do you feel you are better than other people?

Answer: Yes. Often. But I know this is just the vicious propaganda of my own self-serving heart. Therefore I do not believe myself.

Conclusion: Thank-you, Lord, for TRUTH which stands outside the context of my own fallen heart and mind!

An update on this, as it was written some time ago:

To some real and substantial degree, this sin has fallen away. You know why? I simply don’t think about myself that much any more, for good or for ill.

Through virtue?

Mostly through boredom. I just don’t find myself an interesting topic of thought.

I think that is entirely normal as you get older.

God and eternity crowd your ‘self’ out.

