Hello, my readers! I want to thank you all for your comments of the past while, especially on the birth of Josiah. I have been so very busy, I simply haven’t had time to respond day-by-day!

Before a quick few thoughts, I just have to pass on to you something that happened to my husband:

John was alone in our home last week, of course, as I was with Susanna’s children. One noontime he decided to have toasted cheese, which he does on the broil setting of our oven. There are ‘hi’ and ‘lo’ options. He pushed the broil button and went on to other things. A few minutes later, he turned and saw ‘hi’ lit up.

“Hi”, he politely responded!!! (I think I lift him alone too long)

When telling me the story, he concluded, “Well, other people have personal computers. I have a personal oven!”

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Like me, you have probably pondered much on the rapidly evolving changes in American society. Specifically, it has been tragic to watch financial pressures pushing so many of the vulnerable middle-class into a precarious day-by-day struggle just to pay bills. A not insignificant number are losing middle-class standing altogether.

We know, of course, that middle-class standing does not equate to godliness, that financial ease is not an indubitable sign of God’s blessing. Far from it, really. But still, we know that, on the whole, it pleases God when people can work hard, reap the results on their labor, and live peaceable lives under their own “vines and fig trees”.

This is no longer a given in the United States. And it seems that much wealth has been re-distributed into the pockets of extremely wealthy individuals.

I was pondering this age-old societal injustice the other day. The psalmists and the prophets, Christ himself, expend many words on this, don’t they?

I thought specifically of two passages. The first doesn’t apply to issues of misgained wealth only, but is still applicable. It is when Christ tells of resolving issues with your accuser on the way to trial lest you be convicted and made to pay “the last penny”. I love the fact that he used financial imagery here. Because, if your crime has been economic, there literally will be not a stolen penny overlooked by God. And, of course, we human beings can’t pay God’s penalty for even the first penny taken…..

And listen to this, from Habakkuk 2:
“Woe to him who gets evil gain for his house,
to set his nest on high……….
For the stone will cry out from the wall
and the beam from the woodwork respond.”

Isn’t that amazing?

When you steal from someone, you are stealing a portion of his life: the blood, sweat and tears that went into his accrual of possessions. Just as Abel’s blood called out from the ground for justice, so do the stones and beams of a house built from theft. Unto the last penny.

Like you, I would much rather people repent than pay for their sins eternally. I am, after all a much-forgiven woman. But if they don’t, I am glad that a God of Justice sits in heaven. As Schaeffer used to say, “The books aren’t balanced in this life”.

But they will be.


