I have generally been a minimalist as a consumer of drugs and health care. When my kids were little, we generally had a bottle of aspirin and a box of bandaids in our medicine cabinet- just as my mother had before me. But all good things can be taken too far, can’t they? And I have done that these past few weeks.

I have been walking about (sort of) not feeling well, with a deep cough, just waiting for things to take their course. Well, they sure did a couple of nights ago. Whenever I lay down, I could not breathe well enough to remain prone – had to spend the night sitting up and trying to doze in that position.

Uh-oh, I thought. Things have gotten a little out of hand here. So I went to my family physician and found out I have pneumonia in my right lung. I am now full of steroid and antibiotics and feel much better already.

But, I am tired – very tired. So I thought I would just pass on a couple of things I have read lately.

The first is from an article in ‘Message’ magazine, a quarterly publication of a Baptist mission organization. The home-missionary interviewed is Michael Landoll. Here is a most interesting paragraph:

“Having ministered in Germany for the past twenty-seven years, Michael attests to the sad truth that many postmodernists’ lives are ‘simply an emotional, moral mess’. Michael remembers counseling the grieving family of a dying architect, whose final wish was to spend the last day of his life gazing upon an expensive Mercedes sports car he purchased but never got the chance to drive.”

The next couple of sentences I found in a book on African missions published in the late 1960’s. The author is speaking of Nigeria. He says:

“A degree is almost worshiped, and even failing a degree examination carries prestige. I saw a sign on a shop: ‘Proprietor Samuel Oko, B.A. (Failed)”…Just tickled my funny bone!

Finally, for some reason I thought of the following little story recently. It is about George Washington Carver, a former slave who became an agricultural research scientist at Tuskegee Institute in Alabama. He was one of my childhood heroes.

As I remember it – I read this many, many years ago – he was meditating in the fields one night. He thought,

    “Lord, why did you make the universe?” And the obvious biblical answer to his soul was, “Little man, that is too big for you.”

    So he thought some more: “Lord, why did you make mankind?” And again the answer, “Little man, that is also too big for you.”

Finally, he said, “Well, Lord, why did you make the peanut?” And the answer was more-or-less, “Now let’s get to work.”

And he did. And became a great blessing to southern farmers.

So, on this note, I drag my tired, pneumonia-y body back to bed!

