John and I try to read the Bible first thing each morning as I’m sure most of you do. This time of year, John reads out on our front porch while I claim the living room sofa. I had finished up my devotions and was in the kitchen thinking about breakfast when John waltzed  in.

Listen to this really interesting thing that I read this morning. It is in the passage about Jairus’s daughter:

“Someone from the ruler’s house came and said, Your daughter is dead….but he (Jesus) said, Don’t weep for she is not dead but sleeping….Taking her by the hand he called, saying, Child, arise. And her spirit returned and she got up at once….”

But here is the most interesting part, John said.

Yes?

There is a note saying there is a textual variant. Some ancient manuscripts add, “And she was offered a book contract.”

John!

He gets me every time.

