I am unexpectedly at my daughter, Maryanne’s, propped on her sofa with a raging headache, drinking coffee to try and assuage the headache caused by – lack of coffee. (Isn’t that a terrible circular situation?) Almost all my adult life I have gone back and forth, back and forth with caffeine and my poor head pays the price.

A couple of days ago a friend told me of a situation where patrons were abusing the generosity of an upscale restaurant by smuggling food home. We compared that with the effective theft of-at times- my tenants as they seek to take advantage of me.

So what is new? We all know the human heart is filled with corruption. That is the reason much of our legal code exists. To protect us from one another.

As Christians, we try to instil in the hearts of our children from infancy that God sees all and is displeased with the slightest infraction of his law. I brought my kids up on the wonderful music of Judy Rogers. In one song she stresses this very principle, “I can not see God but he always sees me. Nothing can be hid from God….When I’m in the kitchen and no one’s around, I know I can sneak and get cookies. But I will obey what my parents have said, for I know that God will be looking.”

Really precious and hardily biblical lyrics for small children.

But my friend and I began to muse on the wonderful truth that the opposite to God’s knowledge of, and displeasure at, the smallest transgression of the law is also true.

He rejoices at the smallest obedience to the law because we love him and seek to please him. When we don’t smuggle food home illicitly, when we don’t seek to abuse our landlord, when we don’t eat contraband cookies, that brings him great joy and pleasure. We bring him such joy and pleasure. After all, that is what he created us for. To glorify Him through being like Him. To mirror Christ.

Of course, as Christians, God is well-pleased with us in Christ in a way that can’t be moved by our sin, or where would any of us be? But there is no joy like that which comes from faithfulness. His smile on our obedience, a “Well done, thou good and faithful servant” brings unalloyed delight to us as well as to him.

And so much of holiness is based on small acts of faithfulness. After all, life is mostly small things. But not small to him.

All noted. All precious. All ultimately even rewardable.

What grace!

