I don’t know whether you have ever read the conversion story of Charles Spurgeon, but here is the core of it, as he recounts it himself. ‘He’ is a simple church member who had to preach one night at a service Spurgeon stumbled into as he evaded a snowstorm:

“Then, lifting up his hands, he shouted, as only a Primitive Methodist could do, “Young man, look to Jesus Christ. Look! Look! Look! You have nothin’ to do but to look and live.” I saw at once the way of salvation . . . I had been waiting to do fifty things, but when I heard that word, “Look!” What a charming word it seemed to me! Oh! I looked until l could almost have looked my eyes away. There and then the cloud was gone, the darkness had rolled away, and that moment I saw the sun; and I could have risen that instant, and sung with the most enthusiastic of them, of the precious blood of Christ, and the simple faith which looks alone to HIM . . .”

Look! Look! Look!

I have become convinced that the same principle is at the heart of sanctification.

The most important part of the process is that time we spend in reading Scripture and meditating on it. We strive with all that is in us to SEE Jesus. To LOOK at him. To KNOW him.

And the Holy Spirit then takes this knowledge and, as only He can, works it into the deepest parts of us to make us like Him.

“…we shall be like him because we shall see him as he is.”

